[PDHRE logo]
People's Decade of Human Rights Education
PDHRE Home

Hot Topics

Human Rights and Globalization

Sign on! Declaration of Human Rights from a gender perspective

Women's Passport to Dignity - a call to participate!

Human Rights Conventions: Summaries

About PDHRE

Current Projects

Sharing Methodology & Learning Materials

Dialogue & Discourse

Get Involved!


Related Links

LA CONVENTION SUR L'ELIMINATION DE TOUTES LES FORMES DE DISCRIMINATION A L'EGARD DES FEMMES
(CEDAW)

 

Résumé |
Texte integrale

CEDAW
Résumé non officiel


Article 1 :

La définition de "discrimination à l'égard des femmes" : toute distinction, exclusion ou restriction fondée sur le sexe qui a pour effet ou pour but de compromettre la jouissance par les femmes sur la base de l'égalité de l'homme et de la femme, des droits de l'homme dans les domaines politique, économique, social, culturel et civil.

Article 2 :

Les Etats parties condamnent la discrimination à l'égard des femmes, conviennent de poursuivre par tous les moyens appropriés afin d’éliminer la discrimination sous toutes ses formes à l'égard des femmes. Les Etats parties s'engagent à : inscrire dans leur constitution nationale le principe de l'égalité des hommes et des femmes ; adopter des mesures législatives interdisant toute discrimination à l'égard des femmes; instaurer une protection juridictionnelle des droits des femmes et garantir la protection effective des femmes contre tout acte discriminatoire; s'abstenir de tout acte discriminatoire à l'égard des femmes et faire en sorte que les autorités publiques et les institutions publiques se conforment à cette obligation; prendre toutes mesures appropriées pour éliminer la discrimination pratiquée à l'égard des femmes par une personne, une organisation ou une entreprise quelconque;

prendre toutes les mesures appropriées pour modifier ou abroger toute loi, coutume ou pratique qui constitue une discrimination à l'égard des femmes.

Article 3 :

Les Etats parties prennent dans tous les domaines, notamment dans les domaines politique, social, économique et culturel, toutes les mesures appropriées, pour assurer le plein développement et le progrès des femmes, en vue de leur garantir la jouissance des droits de l'homme sur la base de l'égalité avec les hommes.

Article 4 :

Les mesures temporaires spéciales n'est pas considérée comme un acte de discrimination. Les mesures qui visent à protéger la maternité n'est pas considérée comme un acte discriminatoire.

Article 5 :

Les Etats parties prennent toutes les mesures appropriées pour : modifier les schémas et modèles de comportement socioculturel de l'homme et de la femme qui sont fondés sur l'idée de l'infériorité ou de la supériorité de l'un ou l'autre sexe ou d'un rôle stéréotypé des hommes et des femmes; faire en sorte que l'éducation familiale contribue à faire reconnaître la responsabilité commune de l'homme et de la femme dans le soin d'élever leurs enfants.

Article 6 :

Les Etats parties prennent toutes les mesures appropriées pour supprimer le trafic des femmes et l'exploitation de la prostitution des femmes.

Article 7 :

Les Etats parties prennent toutes les mesures appropriées pour éliminer la discrimination à l'égard des femmes dans la vie politique et publique du pays et leur assurent, dans des conditions d'égalité avec les hommes, le droit de voter et d’être éligibles à tous les organismes publiquement élus; de prendre part à l'élaboration de la politique de l'Etat et d’occuper des emplois publics ; de participer aux organisations non gouvernementales.

Article 8 :

Les Etats parties prennent toutes les mesures appropriées pour que les femmes, dans des conditions d'égalité avec les hommes, aient la possibilité de représenter leur gouvernement à l'échelon international et de participer aux travaux des organisations internationales.

Article 9 :

Les Etats parties accordent aux femmes des droits égaux à la nationalité. Ni le mariage avec un étranger, ni le changement de nationalité du mari pendant le mariage ne change automatiquement la nationalité de la femme. Les femmes ont des droits égaux à ceux de l'homme en ce qui concerne la nationalité de leurs enfants.

Article 10 :

Les Etats parties doivent assurer des droits égaux en ce qui concerne l'éducation. Les Etats parties doivent assurer les mêmes conditions d'orientation professionnelle, d'accès aux études et l'accès à un personnel enseignant possédant les qualifications de même ordre et à un équipement de même qualité. L'élimination de toute conception stéréotypée des rôles de l'homme et de la femme dans toutes les formes. Les Etats parties doivent assurer les mêmes possibilités en ce qui concerne l'octroi de bourses et les mêmes possibilités d'accès aux programmes d'éducation permanente. Les Etats parties doivent assurer la réduction des taux d'abandon féminin des études et doivent assurer l’accès à des renseignements spécifiques d'ordre éducatif tendant à assurer la santé et le bien-être des familles, y compris l'information et des conseils relatifs à la planification de la famille.

Article 11 :

Les Etats parties s'engagent à prendre toutes le mesures appropriées pour éliminer la discrimination à l'égard des femmes dans le domaine de l'emploi, afin d'assurer, sur la base de l'égalité de l'homme et de la femme, les mêmes droits au travail, aux mêmes possibilités d'emploi, le droit au libre choix de la profession, le droit à la promotion, à toutes les prestations de travail, le droit à la formation professionnelle, à l'égalité de rémunération, y compris de prestation, à l'égalité de traitement pour un travail d'égale valeur, le droit à la sécurité sociale, notamment aux prestations de chômage, droit à la protection de la santé. Les Etats parties doivent interdire, sous peine de sanctions, le licenciement pour cause de grossesse et la discrimination des les licenciements fondée sur le statut matrimonial. Les Etats doivent prendre les mesures nécessaires pour instituer l'octroi de congés de maternité payés et des avantages sociaux.

Article 12 :

Les Etats parties prennent toutes les mesures appropriées pour éliminer la discrimination à l'égard des femmes dans le domaine des soins de santé et doivent assurer aux femmes, dans des conditions d’égalité, les moyens d'accéder aux services médicaux et à des services suffisants en ce qui concerne la grossesse.

Article 13 :

Les Etats parties s'engagent à prendre toutes les mesures appropriées pour éliminer la discrimination à l'égard des femmes dans d'autres domaines de la vie économique et sociale, et doivent assurer les mêmes droits aux prestations familiales, aux prêts bancaires, prêts hypothécaires et autres formes de crédit financier.

Article 14 :

Les Etats parties tiennent compte des problèmes particuliers qui se posent aux femmes rurales et du rôle important que ces femmes jouent dans la survie économique de leurs familles, et doivent assurer l'application des dispositions de la présente Convention aux femmes des zones rurales. Les Etats parties doivent assurer l'égalité de l'homme et de la femme, leur participation au développement rural et à ses avantages et, ils doivent assurer aux femmes rurales le droit : de participer aux plans de développement ; d'avoir accès aux services adéquats dans le domaine de la santé, y compris en matière de planification de la famille; de bénéficier directement des programmes de sécurité sociale; de recevoir tout type de formation et d'éducation ; d'avoir accès au crédit et aux prêts agricoles, aux services de commercialisation et aux technologies appropriées, et de recevoir un traitement égal dans les réformes foncières et de bénéficier de conditions de vie convenables, notamment en ce qui concerne le logement, l'assainissement, l'approvisionnement en électricité et en eau, les transports et les communications.

Article 15 :

Les Etats parties reconnaissent à la femme l'égalité avec l'homme devant la loi. L'homme et à la femme devrait avoir les mêmes droits en ce qui concerne le droit des personnes à circuler librement et à choisir leur résidence et leur domicile.

Article 16 :

Les Etats parties prennent toutes les mesures appropriées pour éliminer la discrimination à l'égard des femmes dans toutes les questions découlant du mariage et dans les rapports familiaux et doivent assurer le même droit de contracter mariage, de choisir librement son conjoint et de ne contracter mariage que de son libre et plein consentement; les mêmes droits et les mêmes responsabilités au cours du mariage et lors de sa dissolution; les mêmes droits et les mêmes responsabilités en tant que parents, les mêmes droits de décider du nombre et de l'espacement des naissances, les mêmes droits en matière de propriété. Un âge minimal pour le mariage doit être fixer.

 


For more information, please contact PDHRE:

The People's Movement for Human Rights Education (PDHRE) / NY Office
Shulamith Koenig / Executive Director
526 West 111th Street, New York, NY 10025, USA
tel: +1 212.749-3156; fax: +1 212.666-6325
e-mail: pdhre@igc.org

[PDHRE logo]
People's Decade of Human Rights Education
PDHRE Home

Hot Topics

Human Rights and Globalization

Sign on! Declaration of Human Rights from a gender perspective

Women's Passport to Dignity - a call to participate!

Human Rights Conventions: Summaries

About PDHRE

Current Projects

Sharing Methodology & Learning Materials

Dialogue & Discourse

Get Involved!


Related Links

Convention on the Elimination
of All Forms of Discrimination against Women
(CEDAW)

 
Introduction | Article Summaries | Full Text

Excerpt from the Vienna Declaration and Programme of Action, part I, para. 18:

"The human rights of women and of the girl-child are an inalienable, integral and indivisible part of universal human rights. The full and equal participation of women in political, civil, economic, social and cultural life, at the national, regional and international levels, and the eradication of all forms of discrimination on grounds of sex are priority objectives of the international community."

Excerpts from Discrimination Against Women: The Convention and the Committee, Fact Sheet #22, UN Centre for Human Rights:

"Equality is the cornerstone of every democratic society which aspires to social justice and human rights. In virtually all societies and spheres of activity women are subject to inequalities in law and in fact. This situation is both caused and exacerbated by the existence of discrimination in the family, in the community and in the workplace. While causes and consequences may vary from country to country, discrimination against women is widespread. It is perpetuated by the survival of stereotypes and of traditional cultural and religious practices and beliefs detrimental to women...."

"The concept of equality means much more than treating all persons in the same way.... True equality can only emerge from efforts directed towards addressing and correcting ... situational imbalances. It is this broader view of equality which has become the underlying principle and the final goal in the struggle for recognition and acceptance of the human rights of women...."

The Convention on the Elimination of All Forms of Discrimination Against Women ... sets out, in legally binding form, internationally accepted principles on the rights of women which are applicable to all women.... The basic legal norm of the Convention is the prohibition of all forms of discrimination against women. This norm cannot be satisfied merely by the enactment of gender-neutral laws. In addition to demanding that women be accorded equal rights with men, the Convention goes further by prescribing the measures to be taken to ensure that women everywhere are able to enjoy the rights to which they are entitled." "The Convention was adopted by the General Assembly in 1979 to reinforce the provisions of existing international instruments ... designed to combat the continuing discrimination against women. It identifies many specific areas where there has been notorious discrimination against women, for example in regard to political rights, marriage and the family, and employment. In these and other areas the Convention spells out specific goals and measures that are to be taken to facilitate the creation of a global society in which women enjoy full equality with men and thus full realization of their guaranteed human rights."

Introduction | Article Summaries | Full Text

CEDAW
Unofficial Summary


Article 1

Definition of discrimination against women: any distinction, exclusion, or restriction, made on the basis of sex, with the purpose or effect of impairing the enjoyment by women of political, economic, social, cultural, or civil human rights on equal footing with men.

Article 2

States Parties condemn discrimination against women and undertake to pursue a policy of eliminating it in all its forms. States Parties undertake to: include the principles of equality of men and women in national constitutions; adopt legislation prohibiting all discrimination against women; ensure legal protection and effective remedy against discrimination; refrain from any act of discrimination against women and ensure that no public authorities or institutions engage in discrimination; take measures to eliminate discrimination against women by any person, organization or enterprise; take measures to modify or abolish existing laws, customs and practices which constitute discrimination against women.

Article 3

States Parties shall take all appropriate measures, especially in the political, social, economic and cultural fields, to ensure the full development and advancement of women, for the purpose of guaranteeing them enjoyment of human rights on equal footing with men.

Article 4

Affirmative action measures shall not be considered discrimination. Special measures protecting pregnancy shall not be considered discriminatory.

Article 5

States Parties shall take all appropriate measures: to modify social and cultural patterns of conduct of men and women which are based on ideas of inferiority or superiority or on stereotyped roles for men and women; to ensure that family education includes the recognition of the common responsibility of men and women in raising children.

Article 6

States Parties shall take all appropriate measures to suppress traffic in women and exploitation of prostitution.

Article 7

States Parties shall take all appropriate measures to eliminate discrimination against women in political and public life and shall ensure equal rights to vote and be eligible for election; to participate in forming government policy and to hold public office; to participate in NGOs.

Article 8

States Parties shall take all appropriate measures to ensure a womanıs equal right to represent her government at the international level and participate in the work of international organizations.

Article 9

States Parties shall grant women equal rights to a nationality. Neither marriage nor change of nationality by the husband during marriage shall automatically change the nationality of the wife. Women shall have equal rights with men with respect to their children's nationality.

Article 10

States Parties shall ensure to women equal rights in the field of education. States Parties shall ensure the same conditions for career guidance, access to studies, the same teaching staff and equipment. Stereotyped roles of men and women are to be eliminated in all forms of education. States Parties shall ensure that women have the same opportunities to benefit from scholarships and the same access to continuing education. States Parties shall ensure the reduction of female drop-out rates and shall ensure that women have access to educational information to help ensure health and well-being of families, including information on family planning.

Article 11

States Parties shall take all appropriate measures to eliminate discrimination against women in employment and shall ensure, on the basis of equality of men and women, the same rights to work, to the same employment opportunities, to free choice of employment, to promotion, benefits, vocational training, equal remuneration, equal treatment in respect of work of equal value, the right to social security, unemployment, protection of health. States Parties shall prohibit dismissal on the grounds of pregnancy and discrimination in dismissals on the basis of marital status. States Parties shall take measures to introduce maternity leave with pay or social benefits.

Article 12

States Parties shall take all appropriate measures to eliminate discrimination against women in the field of health care and shall ensure women equal access to health care services and appropriate services in connection with pregnancy.

Article 13

States Parties shall take all appropriate measures to eliminate discrimination against women in other areas of economic and social life and shall ensure the same rights to family benefits, to bank loans, mortgages and other forms of credit.

Article 14

States Parties shall take into account the special problems of rural women and the significant roles they play in the economic survival of their families and shall ensure to them all rights in this convention. States Parties shall ensure equal rights of men and women to participate in and benefit from rural development, and shall ensure to rural women the rights to: participate in development planning; have access to adequate health care facilities and family planning; benefit from social security programs; receive training and education; have access to agricultural credit and loans, marketing, and appropriate technology; receive equal treatment in land reform; and have adequate living conditions, particularly in relation to housing, sanitation, electricity and water supply, transport and communications.

Article 15

Women shall have equality with men before the law. Women and men shall have the same rights regarding movement of persons and freedom to choose residence.

Article 16

States Parties shall take all appropriate measures to eliminate discrimination against women in all matters relating to marriage and family relations and shall ensure equal rights to enter marriage, to choose a spouse, to enter marriage only with full consent, the same rights and responsibilities within marriage and in divorce, the same rights and responsibilities as parents, the same rights to decide on the number and spacing of children, the same rights with regard to ownership of property. A minimum age shall be set for marriage.


For more information, please contact PDHRE:

The People's Movement for Human Rights Education (PDHRE) / NY Office
Shulamith Koenig / Executive Director
526 West 111th Street, New York, NY 10025, USA
tel: +1 212.749-3156; fax: +1 212.666-6325
e-mail: pdhre@igc.org