[PDHRE logo]
People's Decade of Human Rights Education
PDHRE Home

Hot Topics

Human Rights and Globalization

Sign on! Declaration of Human Rights from a gender perspective

Women's Passport to Dignity - a call to participate!

Human Rights Conventions: Summaries

About PDHRE

Current Projects

Sharing Methodology & Learning Materials

Dialogue & Discourse

Get Involved!


Related Links


LA CONVENTION RELATIVE A L'ESCLAVAGE ET CONVENTION SUPPLEMANTAIRE RELATIVE A L'ABOLITION DE L' ESCLAVAGE, DE LA TRAITE DES ESCLAVES ET DES INSTITUTIONS ET PRATIQUES ANALOGUES A L'ESCLAVAGE

Introduction | Résumé | Texte integrale | Résumé Convention Supplementaire | Convention Supplementaire Text integrale

« A l'heure actuelle, le terme "esclavage" recouvre diverses violations des droits de l'homme. A l'esclavage traditionnel et au commerce des esclaves s'ajoutent la vente d'enfants, la prostitution enfantine, la pornographie impliquant des enfants, l'exploitation de la main-d’œuvre enfantine, la mutilation sexuelle des enfants de sexe féminin, l'utilisation des enfants dans les conflits armés, la servitude pour dettes, le trafic des personnes et la vente d'organes humains, l'exploitation de la prostitution et certaines pratiques des régimes d'apartheid et coloniaux. »

« Les pratiques esclavagistes peuvent être clandestines. Il est donc difficile de se faire une idée claire de l'ampleur de l'esclavage contemporain et plus encore de le découvrir, de le punir ou de l'éliminer. La situation est compliquée par le fait que les victimes des abus esclavagistes appartiennent en général aux groupes sociaux les plus pauvres et les plus vulnérables. La peur et la nécessité d'assurer leur survie ne les encouragent pas à parler. »

« L'intérêt porté sur le plan international à l'esclavage et à sa suppression a donné lieu à nombre de traités, déclarations et conventions au XIXe et au XXe siècle. La première des trois conventions les plus récentes qui traitent directement du problème est la Convention relative à l'esclavage de 1926... Les Etats qui ont ratifié la Convention -ils étaient quatre-vingt-six en 1990- s'engagent à prévenir et à réprimer la traite des esclaves et à poursuivre la suppression de l'esclavage sous toutes ses formes. »

«La définition de l'esclavage contenue dans la Convention de 1926 a été élargie pour englober les pratiques et institutions en matière de servitude pour dettes, de formes serviles de mariage et d'exploitation des enfants et des adolescents dans la Convention supplémentaire relative à l'abolition de l'esclavage, de la traite des esclaves et des institutions et pratiques analogues à l'esclavage, adoptées en 1956. » 

« La protection contre les atteintes aux droits de l'homme qui entrent dans la définition de l'esclavage au sens large est une caractéristique de la Déclaration universelle des droits de l'homme et du Pacte international relatif aux droits civils et politiques, du Pacte international relatif aux droits économiques, sociaux et culturels, de la Convention sur l'élimination de toutes les formes de discrimination à l'égard des femmes et de la Convention relative aux droits de l'enfant. »

--Extrait de  « formes contemporaine d’esclavage »,

Fiche d’information # 14, Centre des Nations Unies pour les droits de l’homme

 

Introduction | Résumé | Texte intregrale | Résumé Convention Supplementaire Convention Supplementaire Texte integrale

CONVENTION RELATIVE A L'ESCLAVAGE

Résumé non officiel


Article 1 :

La définition d’esclavage : l'état ou condition d'un individu sur lequel s'exercent les attributs du droit de propriété ou certains d'entre eux;

Article 2 :

Les Etats Parties s'engagent, en ce qui concerne les territoires placés sous sa souveraineté, juridiction, à prévenir et réprimer la traite des esclaves; à poursuivre la suppression complète de l'esclavage sous toutes ses formes, aussitôt que possible.

Article3 :

Les Etats Parties contractantes s'engagent à prendre toutes mesures utiles en vue de prévenir et réprimer le transport des esclaves

Article 4 :

Les Etats Parties se prêteront mutuellement assistance pour arriver à la suppression de l'esclavage.

Article 5 :

Les Etats parties reconnaissent que l’utilisation du travail forcé ou obligatoire peut avoir de graves conséquences. Ils prendront toutes les mesures nécessaires pour prévenir le changement du travail forcé ou obligatoire en esclavage sur le territoire sous leur juridiction. Il est entendu que le travail forcé ou obligatoire ne peut être exigé que pour des fins publiques. Que, dans les territoires où le travail forcé ou obligatoire les Etats Parties contractantes s'efforceront d'y mettre progressivement fin, aussi rapidement que possible. Si le travail forcé ou obligatoire existe, il ne sera employé qu'à titre exceptionnel, contre une rémunération adéquate et à la condition qu'un changement du lieu habituel de résidence ne puisse être imposé.

Article 6 :

Les Etats doivent adopter les mesures nécessaires pour que l’esclavage et autres pratiques similaires soient punies de peines sévères.


CONVENTION SUPPLEMANTAIRE RELATIVE A L'ABOLITION DE L'ESCLAVAGE, DE LA TRAITE DES ESCLAVES ET DES INSTITUTIONS ET PRATIQUES ANALOGUES A L'ESCLAVAGE

Résumé non officiel


Article 1 :

Chacun des Etats parties à la présente Convention prendra toutes les mesures pour obtenir l'abolition complète des pratiques suivantes :

  • La servitude pour dettes: l'état ou la condition résultant du fait qu'un débiteur s'est engagé à fournir en garantie d'une dette ses services personnels ou ceux de quelqu'un sur lequel il a autorité, si la valeur équitable ce ces services n'est pas affectée à la liquidation de la dette ou si la durée de ces services n'est pas limitée ni leur caractère défini;
  • Le servage: la condition de quiconque est tenu de vivre et de travailler sur une terre appartenant à une autre, sans pouvoir changer sa condition;
  • Toute pratique en vertu de laquelle une femme est, sans qu'elle ait le droit de refuser, promise ou donnée en mariage moyennant une contrepartie en espèces ou en nature versée à ses parents, à son tuteur, à sa famille ou à toute autre personne ou tout autre groupe de personnes; ou lorsque le mari d'une femme, la famille ou le clan de celui-ci ont le droit de la céder à un tiers, à titre onéreux ou autrement;
  • Toute pratique en vertu de laquelle un enfant ou un adolescent de moins de dix-huit ans est remis, soit par ses parents ou par l'un d'eux, soit par son tuteur, à un tiers, en vue de l'exploitation de la personne, ou du travail dudit enfant ou adolescent.

 

Article 2 :

Les Etats parties s'engagent à fixer, là où il y aura lieu, des âges minimum appropriés pour le mariage, et d’encourager l'enregistrement des mariages.

Article 3 :

Le fait de transporter ou de tenter de transporter des esclaves d'un pays à un autre constituera une infraction pénale au regard de la loi des Etats parties une telle infraction seront passibles de peines très rigoureuses. Les Etats parties prendront toutes mesures efficaces pour empêcher les navires et aéronefs autorisés à battre leur pavillon de transporter des esclaves et

Doivent s’assurer que leurs ports, leurs aérodromes et leurs côtes ne puissent servir au transport des esclaves.

Article 4 :

Tout esclave qui se réfugie à bord d'un navire d'un Etat partie à la présente Convention sera libre ipso facto.

Article 5 :

Dans un pays où l'esclavage ou les pratiques similaires ne sont pas encore complètement abolis, le fait de mutiler, de marquer au fer rouge ou autrement un esclave sera punissable au regard de la loi.

Article 6 :

Le fait de réduire, ou de tenter de réduire, autrui en esclavage ou d'inciter autrui à aliéner sa liberté ou celle d'une personne à sa charge, pour être réduit en esclavage, constituera une infraction punissable en vertu de la loi.


For more information, please contact PDHRE:

The People's Movement for Human Rights Education (PDHRE) / NY Office
Shulamith Koenig / Executive Director
526 West 111th Street, New York, NY 10025, USA
tel: +1 212.749-3156; fax: +1 212.666-6325
e-mail: pdhre@igc.org

[PDHRE logo]
People's Decade of Human Rights Education
PDHRE Home

Hot Topics

Human Rights and Globalization

Sign on! Declaration of Human Rights from a gender perspective

Women's Passport to Dignity - a call to participate!

Human Rights Conventions: Summaries

About PDHRE

Current Projects

Sharing Methodology & Learning Materials

Dialogue & Discourse

Get Involved!


Related Links

Slavery Convention and the
Supplementary Convention on the Abolition of Slavery,
the Slave Trade,
and Institutions and Practices Similar to Slavery
Introduction | Article Summaries | Full Text | Supplimentary Convention

Excerpts from Contemporary Forms of Slavery, Fact Sheet #14, UN Centre for Human Rights:

"The word 'slavery' today covers a variety of human rights violations. In addition to traditional slavery and the slave trade, these abuses include the sale of children, child prostitution, child pornography, the exploitation of child labour, the sexual mutilation of female children, the use of children in armed conflicts, debt bondage, the traffic in persons and in the sale of human organs, the exploitation of prostitution, and certain practices under apartheid and colonial regimes."

"Slavery-like practices may be clandestine. This makes it difficult to have a clear picture of the scale of contemporary slavery, let alone to uncover, punish or eliminate it. The problem is compounded by the fact that the victims of slavery-like abuses are generally from the poorest and most vulnerable social groups. Fear and the need to survive do not encourage them to speak out."

"International concern with slavery and its suppression is the theme of many treaties, declarations and conventions of the nineteenth and twentieth centuries. The first of three modern conventions directly related to the issue is the Slavery Convention of 1926.... States which have ratified the Convention ... undertake to prevent and suppress the slave trade and to bring about the abolition of slavery in all its forms."

"The 1926 Convention's definition of slavery was broadened to include the practices and institutions of debt bondage, servile forms of marriage, and the exploitation of children and adolescents in the Supplementary Convention on the Abolition of Slavery, the Slave Trade, and Institutions and Practices Similar to Slavery, adopted ... in 1956."

Other means of protection

"Protection against abuses of human rights which fall within the broad definition of slavery is a feature of the Universal Declaration of Human Rights and the International Covenant on Civil and Political Rights, the International Covenant on Economic, Social and Cultural Rights, the Convention on the Elimination of All Forms of Discrimination against Women, and the Convention on the Rights of the Child."

Introduction | Article Summaries | Full Text | Supplimentary Convention

SLAVERY CONVENTION

Unofficial Summary


Article 1

Definition of Slavery: status or condition of a person over whom any or all of the powers of the right of ownership are exercised.

Article 2

States Parties agree, in the territories under their sovereignty or jurisdiction, to prevent and suppress the slave trade and to bring about as soon as possible the complete abolition of slavery in all its forms.

Article 3

States Parties shall adopt measures to prevent and suppress the transport of slaves.

Article 4

States Parties shall assist one another in ending slavery.

Article 5

States Parties recognize that using compulsory or forced labor may have grave consequences. They shall take all necessary steps to prevent compulsory or forced labor from developing into conditions of slavery in the territories under their jurisdiction. It is agreed that compulsory or forced labor may be used for public purposes only. In places where it is used for other purposes, States Parties shall put an end to the practice as soon as possible. If forced or compulsory labor exists, it shall be exceptional, shall receive adequate remuneration, and shall not remove laborers from their usual place of residence.

Article 6

States shall have or adopt laws imposing severe penalties for slavery and slave-like practices.


SUPPLEMENTARY CONVENTION ON THE ABOLITION OF SLAVERY,
THE SLAVE TRADE,
AND INSTITUTIONS AND PRACTICES SIMILAR TO SLAVERY

Unofficial Summary


Article 1

States Parties agree to take all measures to bring about the complete abolition of the following practices:

  • Debt bondage: where a debtor pledges his personal services or those of a person under his control as security for a debt, if the reasonable value of those services is not applied towards payment of the debt, or if the length and nature of those services are not limited and defined;
  • Serfdom: where a tenant is bound to live and labor on land belonging to another person and is not free to change his status;
  • Any practice where a woman, without the right to refuse, is promised or given in marriage in exchange for payment to her parents, guardian, family, or any group or person; or where the husband of a woman or his family or clan has the right to transfer her to another person; or where a woman can be inherited by another person after the death of her husband;
  • Any practice where a child or young person under 18 is delivered by his parent(s) or guardian to another person for exploitation of the child or of his labor.

Article 2

States Parties agree to set a suitable minimum age of marriage and to encourage the registration of marriages.

Article 3

Conveying or attempting to convey slaves from one country to another shall be a criminal offense under the laws of all States Parties, subject to severe penalty. States Parties shall take all effective measures to prevent the conveying of slaves by ships and aircraft authorized to fly their flag, and shall ensure that their ports, airfields, and coasts are not used for conveyance of slaves.

Article 4

Any slave who takes refuge on board any vessel of a State Party shall be free.

Article 5

Where the abolition of slavery or slave-like practices is not complete, mutilating, branding or otherwise marking a slave for any reason shall be a criminal offense punishable by law.

Article 6

Enslaving another person or inducing someone to give himself or a dependent into slavery, or attempting these acts, shall be a criminal offense punishable by law.


For more information, please contact PDHRE:

The People's Movement for Human Rights Education (PDHRE) / NY Office
Shulamith Koenig / Executive Director
526 West 111th Street, New York, NY 10025, USA
tel: +1 212.749-3156; fax: +1 212.666-6325
e-mail: pdhre@igc.org