[PDHRE logo]
People's Decade of Human Rights Education
PDHRE Home

Hot Topics

Human Rights and Globalization

Sign on! Declaration of Human Rights from a gender perspective

Women's Passport to Dignity - a call to participate!

Human Rights Conventions: Summaries

About PDHRE

Current Projects

Sharing Methodology & Learning Materials

Dialogue & Discourse

Get Involved!


Related Links


LA CONVENTION CONTRE LA TORTURE ET TOUS AUTRES TRAITEMENTS OU PEINES CRUELS, INHUMAINS OU DEGRADANTS

Introduction | Résumé | Texte integrale


« La pratique de la torture est une violation des droits de l'homme particulièrement grave, et, en tant que telle, strictement réprouvée par le droit international et, en particulier, par la Déclaration universelle des droits de l'homme qui proclame, en son article 5, que "nul ne sera soumis à la torture, ni à des peines ou traitements cruels, inhumains ou dégradants".

Pour assurer à tous une protection adéquate contre ces abus, l'Organisation des Nations Unies (ONU) s'est efforcée, de longues années durant, d'élaborer des normes universellement applicables. La Convention contre la torture et autres peines ou traitements cruels, inhumains ou dégradants, adoptée par l'Assemblée générale des Nations Unies le 10 décembre 1984, comme de nombreuses autres conventions, déclarations et résolutions pertinentes de la communauté internationale, établissent clairement que l'interdiction du recours à la torture ne saurait souffrir aucune exception…

La Convention contre la torture … prévoit non seulement que les Etats parties mettront hors la loi la torture dans leur législation nationale, mais interdit explicitement toute invocation "d'ordres supérieurs" ou de "circonstances exceptionnelles" pour excuser des actes de torture… »

 

--Extrait des « mécanismes de lutte contre la torture »,

Fiche d’information # 4, Centre des Nations Unies pour les droits de l’homme

Introduction | Résumé | Texte integrale

Résumé non officiel


Article 1 :

Définition de torture : tout acte par lequel une douleur ou des souffrances aiguës, physiques ou mentales, sont intentionnellement infligées à une personne aux fins notamment d'obtenir d'elle ou d'une tierce personne des renseignements ou des aveux, de la punir d'un acte qu'elle ou une tierce personne a commis ou est soupçonnée d'avoir commis, de l'intimider ou de faire pression sur elle ou d'intimider ou de faire pression sur une tierce personne, ou pour tout autre motif fondé sur une forme de discrimination quelle qu'elle soit, lorsqu'une telle douleur ou de telles souffrances sont infligées par un agent de la fonction publique ou toute autre personne agissant à titre officiel ou à son instigation ou avec son consentement exprès ou tacite. Ce terme ne s'étend pas à la douleur ou aux souffrances résultant uniquement de sanctions légitimes, inhérentes à ces sanctions ou occasionnées par elles.

Article 2 :

Tout Etat partie prend des mesures législatives et autres mesures efficaces pour empêcher que des actes de torture soient commis. Aucune circonstance exceptionnelle, notamment l'état de guerre, ne peut être invoquée pour justifier la torture. L'ordre d'un supérieur ou d'une autorité publique ne peut être invoqué pour justifier la torture.

Article 3 :

Aucun Etat partie n'expulsera, ne refoulera, ni n'extradera une personne vers un autre Etat où il y a des motifs sérieux de croire qu'elle risque d'être soumise à la torture.

Article 4 :

Tout Etat partie veille à ce que tous les actes de torture, de tentative de torture ou de tout acte de complicité ou de participation à l'acte de torture, constituent des infractions au regard de son droit pénal.

Article 5 :

Tout Etat partie prend les mesures nécessaires pour établir sa compétence aux fins de connaître des infractions relatives à la torture quand l'infraction a été commise sur tout territoire sous la juridiction dudit Etat ou à bord d'aéronefs ou de navires immatriculés dans cet Etat; quand l'auteur présumé de l'infraction est un ressortissant dudit Etat; quand la victime est un ressortissant dudit Etat et que ce dernier le juge approprié. Tout Etat partie prend également les mesures nécessaires pour établir sa compétence aux fins de connaître desdites infractions dans le cas où l'auteur présumé de celles-ci se trouve sur tout territoire sous sa juridiction et où ledit Etat ne l'extrade pas.

Article 6 :

Tout Etat partie sur le territoire duquel se trouve une personne soupçonnée d'avoir commis, tenter de commettre ou participé à un acte de torture, doit assurer la détention de cette personne.

Article 7 :

L'Etat partie s'il n'extrade pas l’auteur présumé d’ un acte de torture, soumet l'affaire à ses autorités compétentes pour l'exercice de l'action pénale. La personne poursuivie bénéficie de la garantie d'un traitement équitable à tous les stades de la procédure.

Article 8 :

Torture, tentative de torture ou la participation à un acte de torture sont de plein droit comprises dans tout traité d'extradition conclu entre Etats parties. Si aucun traité d’extradition n’existe, la présente Convention peut être considérer comme constituant la base juridique de l'extradition.

Article 9 :

Les Etats parties s'accordent l'entraide judiciaire la plus large possible dans toute procédure pénale relative aux infractions de torture, y compris la communication de tous les éléments de preuve dont ils disposent.

Article 10 :

Tout Etat partie exerce une surveillance systématique sur les règles, instructions, méthodes et pratiques d'interrogatoire et sur les dispositions concernant la garde et le traitement des personnes arrêtées, détenues ou emprisonnées de quelque façon que ce soit en vue d'éviter tout cas de torture.

Article 11 :

Tout Etat partie exerce une surveillance systématique sur les règles, instructions, méthodes et pratiques d'interrogatoire et sur les dispositions concernant la garde et le traitement des personnes arrêtées, détenues ou emprisonnées de quelque façon que ce soit en vue d'éviter tout cas de torture.

Article 12 :

Tout Etat partie veille à ce que les autorités compétentes procèdent immédiatement à une enquête impartiale chaque fois qu'il y a des motifs raisonnables de croire qu'un acte de torture a été commis sur tout territoire sous sa juridiction.

Article 13 :

Tout Etat partie assure à toute personne qui prétend avoir été soumise à la torture sur tout territoire sous sa juridiction le droit de porter plainte devant les autorités compétentes dudit Etat qui procéderont immédiatement et impartialement à l'examen de sa cause.

Article 14 :

Tout Etat partie garantit, dans son système juridique, à la victime d'un acte de torture, le droit d'obtenir réparation et d'être indemnisée équitablement et de manière adéquate. En cas de mort de la victime résultant d'un acte de torture, les ayants cause de celle-ci ont doit à indemnisation.

Article 15 :

Tout Etat partie veille à ce que toute déclaration dont il est établi qu'elle a été obtenue par la torture ne puisse être invoquée comme un élément de preuve dans une procédure.

Article 16 :

Tout Etat partie s'engage à interdire d'autres actes constitutifs de peines ou traitements cruels, inhumains ou dégradants qui ne sont pas des actes de torture telle qu'elle est définie à l'article premier lorsque de tels actes sont commis par un agent de la fonction publique ou toute autre personne agissant à titre officiel, ou à son instigation ou avec son consentement exprès ou tacite.


For more information, please contact PDHRE:

The People's Movement for Human Rights Education (PDHRE) / NY Office
Shulamith Koenig / Executive Director
526 West 111th Street, New York, NY 10025, USA
tel: +1 212.749-3156; fax: +1 212.666-6325
e-mail: pdhre@igc.org

[PDHRE logo]
People's Decade of Human Rights Education
PDHRE Home

Hot Topics

Human Rights and Globalization

Sign on! Declaration of Human Rights from a gender perspective

Women's Passport to Dignity - a call to participate!

Human Rights Conventions: Summaries

About PDHRE

Current Projects

Sharing Methodology & Learning Materials

Dialogue & Discourse

Get Involved!


Related Links

Convention against Torture
and Other Cruel, Inhuman or
Degrading Treatment or Punishment
Introduction | Article Summaries | Full Text

Excerpts from Methods of Combating Torture, Fact Sheet #4, UN Centre for Human Rights:

"Torture is a particularly serious violation of human rights and, as such, is strictly condemned by international law and, in particular, by the Universal Declaration of Human Rights, article 5, which states that 'No one shall be subjected to torture or to cruel, inhuman or degrading treatment or punishment'.

To ensure adequate protection for all persons against such abuses, the United Nations has sought for many years to develop universally applicable standards. The Convention against Torture ..., which was adopted by the General Assembly of the United Nations on 10 December 1984, and many other relevant conventions, declarations and resolutions adopted by the international community, clearly state that there may be no exception to the prohibition against torture....

The Convention against Torture ... not only specifies that the States Parties will outlaw torture in their national legislation, but also notes explicitly that no order from a superior or exceptional circumstance may be invoked as a justification of torture...."

Introduction | Article Summaries | Full Text

Unofficial Summary


Article 1

Definition of torture: any act by which severe pain or suffering, physical or mental, is intentionally inflicted on a person for purposes such as obtaining information or a confession from him or another person, punishing, intimidating or coercing him or another person, or for any reason based on discrimination of any kind. For the purposes of this convention, such pain and suffering must be inflicted by or at the instigation of or with the acquiescence of a public official or someone acting in an official capacity. It does not include pain and suffering arising from lawful sanctions.

Article 2

Each State Party shall take effective legislative and other measures to prevent acts of torture. No circumstances of any kind, including war, may be invoked to justify torture. An order from a superior officer may not be invoked to justify torture.

Article 3

No State Party shall expel, return ("refouler") or extradite a person to another State where there are substantial grounds to believe he would be subjected to torture.

Article 4

Each State Party shall ensure that all acts of torture, attempts to commit torture, and complicity or participation in torture are offences punishable by law.

Article 5

Each State Party shall establish its jurisdiction over offenses relating to torture when they are committed in any territory under its jurisdiction, or on board a ship or aircraft registered in that State; when the alleged offender is a national of that State; and when the victim is a national of that State, if appropriate. Each State Party shall also establish its jurisdiction in cases where the alleged offender is in territory under its jurisdiction and it does not extradite him.

Article 6

Any State Party in whose territory a person alleged to have committed, attempted or participated in torture is present, shall take him into custody.

Article 7

The State Party, if it does not extradite the alleged offender, will submit the case to competent authorities for prosecution. The person shall be guaranteed fair treatment at all stages of the proceedings.

Article 8

Torture, attempted torture, or participation in torture shall be deemed extraditable offences in any extradition treaty existing between States Parties. This Convention may be considered a legal basis for extradition if no extradition treaty exists.

Article 9

States Parties shall provide each other with the greatest degree of judicial assistance possible in connection with cases of alleged torture and supply all of the evidence at their disposal.

Article 10

Each State Party shall ensure that education and information regarding the prohibition against torture are fully included in the training of civil and military law enforcement personnel, medical personnel, public officials, and others involved in custody, interrogation, or treatment of any individual subjected to arrest, detention, or imprisonment.

Article 11

Each State Party shall review interrogation rules, instructions, methods and practices, as well as arrangements for the custody and treatment of persons subjected to any form of arrest, detention or imprisonment, with a view to preventing any cases of torture.

Article 12

Each State Party shall ensure that its authorities proceed with a prompt and impartial investigation wherever there is ground to believe that an act of torture has been committed in territory under its jurisdiction.

Article 13

Each State Party shall ensure that any individual who alleges he has been subjected to torture in any territory under its jurisdiction has the right to complain to, and to have his case promptly examined by, competent authorities.

Article 14

Each State Party shall ensure in its legal system that the victim of torture obtains redress and has an enforceable right to fair and adequate compensation. In the event of the death of the victim as a result of torture, his dependents shall be entitled to compensation.

Article 15

Each State Party shall ensure that any statement made as a result of torture shall not be used as evidence in any proceedings.

Article 16

Each State Party shall undertake to prevent other acts of cruel, inhuman or degrading treatment or punishment which do not amount to torture as defined in Article 1, when such acts are committed by or at the instigation of or with the consent or acquiescence of a public official or someone acting in official capacity.


For more information, please contact PDHRE:

The People's Movement for Human Rights Education (PDHRE) / NY Office
Shulamith Koenig / Executive Director
526 West 111th Street, New York, NY 10025, USA
tel: +1 212.749-3156; fax: +1 212.666-6325
e-mail: pdhre@igc.org